School Director Appreciation Month

School Board


Quality public education is a key that can open doors of opportunity for many students.  Providing a quality education takes a team of committed people from educators and staff to parents and administrators. The nine members of our Charleroi Area School Board are an important part of this team, making informed decisions that direct the course of our public schools.

Every January, we take time to celebrate and recognize the challenging and vital work they do on behalf of our students, families and community.

School directors volunteer an average of 20 hours each month to board work, which includes adopting policy, voting on budgets, approving curriculum changes, choosing textbooks and reviewing hiring decisions to name a few. They take time to learn about the issues affecting public education and to seek innovative solutions.

As unpaid, locally elected officials, school directors are invested in their communities. They are our neighbors, friends, local leaders, parents and engaged senior citizens.

During this month of recognition, please take a moment and show your gratitude for school directors’ time, dedication and effort year-round. The job they do is neces­sary to ensure our schools remain a pathway to a promising future. Thank them for advocating on behalf of our collective interest, and most importantly, for making the success of our children their priority.


Please consider taking a moment to give special thank you to our board members Mr. Joe Caruso, Mrs. Adele Hopkins, Mrs. Heather Keranko, Mr. Thomas Nutting, Mrs. Elaine Papasergi, Mrs. Antonia Pellegrini, Mrs. Barbara Pepper, Mr. Ken Wiltz, and Mr. Charles Yakich.

Back to School News       Print News Article